Oxford and Rangiora. The nearby Cust river was named after Sir Edward Cust in 1849, who was a member of the Canterbury Association, which organised the immigrant ships, and early settlement of Canterbury 1850 - 1853. Later, Cust was adopted to be the name for the town.
Located in Cust is the Route 72 Cafe Bar Emporium, a treasure trove of unique gifts and a favourite stop for food and coffee. Just along the road is the Cust Hotel, which was built in the early 1860's as an accommodation house and became licensed in 1863. The licence required stables to be available for traveller's horses and became a favourite 'halfway house' for the bullock wagoners carting timber from 'Harewood Forest' (Oxford) to Rangiora. The original hotel is incorporated in the present building.
Only 1.5kms north of Cust on Mill Road, is the Cust Domain. The spacious 11 hectares contains sports fields, equestrian arena, freedom camping area, picnic area, kitchen and pavillion available for hire. Contact Bernard Kingsbury, ph +64 3 312 5839.
A taste of Cust
Cust is a popular stop on the Inland Scenic Route 72 with a peaceful village atmosphere and friendly locals that will look after you. Take time to discover the area with this map of walks around the village and its delightful businesses:
- Away With The Fairys
- Roses at Cust
- Route 72 Cafe Bar Emporium
- Oxford Pines accommodation
- Cust Museum - currently closed
- Cust Village Market
- Cust Hotel
- Cust Community Centre, reserve and playground
- Cust Domain
Venues available for hire in Cust.
For more information on Cust visit www.waimakariri.govt.nz
Away with the Fairys
|A wonderful shop full of bears, gifts for little fairies, babies and boys stuff, and a great selection of patchwork fabrics and supplies. More details ...|
Oxford Pines Accommodation
This friendly and stylish accommodation is located in the rural setting of Cust. Two king size guest rooms available. More details ...